Posted in Longer Posts, Reading, Tags and Lists, Words

Top Ten Tuesday: New-to-Me Authors I Discovered in 2021

After doing WWW Wednesday, I have found another weekly book challenge to try. Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl, and today’s is ten authors I discovered last year.


10. Becky Albertalli

In July, I read Simon v.s. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli. Sadly, I didn’t like the popular book enough to finish it. I felt the same way when I read another book in the series, Leah on the Offbeat.

Most recently, I read What If It’s Us, which she cowrote with Adam Silvera. The blended styles, compelling plot, unique rom-com spin, and endless musical theatre references made it a top book of 2021. My review of it is also one of my favorites on Words on Key.

9. Rainbow Rowell

Multiple books by Rainbow Rowell are on The Ultimate Reading List, and I have read and reviewed two: Fangirl and Pumpkinheads.

I liked Rowell’s books, but not enough to consider her a favorite author. In Fangirl, dialogue was definitely her strong point. This talent could shine when she wrote the graphic novel Pumpkinheads, which Faith Erin Hicks illustrated.

Though it’s not at the top of my list, I am interested in reading Carry On. Written by Rainbow Rowell, it is supposed to be the fanfiction novel Cath from Fangirl wrote.

8. Matthew Bogart & Jesse Holden

Matthew Bogart and Jesse Holden write Incredible Doom, a graphic novel series set in the early ’90s. I loved the first book in July, and will read the second, which comes out in 2022, as soon as possible. The premise was intriguing and I want to see where they take the story.

7. Jen Wang

I read Stargazing by graphic novelist Jen Wang in July too and thought it was decent.

But a few months later I read The Prince and the Dressmaker, and it became my favorite graphic novel. Between the sweet plot, powerful writing, expressive art, and vivid color, every aspect was lovable.

6. Leigh Bardugo

Granted, I haven’t read any of Leigh Bardugo’s books. I didn’t know who she was until suddenly everyone talked about her in 2021.

This year, I hope to get to a few of her books so I can see whether I agree with the popular opinion. Let me know if you have a recommendation to start with.

Author Leigh Bardugo

5. Karen M. McManus

Karen M. McManus has gained a ton of popularity in the YA community with her murder mystery novel One of Us is Lying.

While I enjoyed this book in September, its sequel, One of Us is Next, was not nearly as worth reading or writing. I rant about it more in my review.

I do like Karen M. McManus’s writing style, so if I have time I may read some of her other books.

4. Amanda Gorman

I learned about Amanda Gorman at the same time many others did: the U.S. presidential inauguration.

Now I have her famous poem The Hill We Climb in book form, which I quote in my poetic one-year post So Slow So Fast. I am also reading Call Us What We Carry, her new book of poetry about the world experiencing a pandemic.

I find her writing inspiring, and will probably write another post related to her work at some point.

Poet Amanda Gorman

3. Alice Oseman

In October, I checked out all the Heartstopper books from the library and read them in two days. The romance graphic novels’ plot and writing were nothing special, but well-developed, changing characters and beautiful drawings made them fun and enjoyable.

I have heard plenty of good and bad about Alice Oseman’s other books, so they—particularly Radio Silence—are on my list.

2. TJ Klune

TJ Klune was my last author discovery of 2021. I read The House in the Cerulean Sea days before the new year, and in doing so managed to squeeze in another favorite.

The story-driving characters and vivid writing made it a fantastic book. I can’t wait to read more from TJ Klune this year, like the series The Extraordinaries.

More: 50 Unique Questions to Get to Know Your Character

Author TJ Klune

1. Adam Silvera

The last of ten authors I discovered in 2021, Adam Silvera wrote the indescribably good and frequently praised on my blog They Both Die at the End.

Like I said, he also wrote What If It’s Us and Here’s To Us with Becky Albertalli.

Adam Silvera could characterize and write about a rock and I’d be hooked for 400 pages. I will be reading more of his books this year.


These are just some of the authors I discovered in 2021. Does anyone else find it strange to see the faces of the writers behind the books you read?

One thing this helped me notice was that, although I had a balance of sexuality and gender, nine out of eleven of these authors are white. Because of this, I have made the goal to read from some more racially diverse authors this year.

I hope with 2022 come many more new discoveries and favorites.


You might also like: Red Book Tag

Author:

A teenager obsessed with words of all kinds. When I’m not reading or writing, I like drawing, musical theatre, and D&D.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: New-to-Me Authors I Discovered in 2021

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.