Posted in Quick Reads, Reading, Tags and Lists, Words

WWW Wednesday 01/19/2022

WWW Wednesday is a weekly challenge hosted by Taking On a World of Words. This is my first time participating, and I don’t plan to do it every week, but it’s simple so I will give it a try.

All you have to do is answer the three Ws:

  • What are you currently reading?
  • What did you recently finish reading?
  • What do you think you’ll read next?

Currently Reading

I am reading Early Departures by Justin A. Reynolds and Punching the Air by Ibi Zoboi and Yusef Salaam. Both of these are for a school competition I have done several other years, and written reviews for books from such as Front Desk, Indian No More, Gregor the Overlander, and Dragon Hoops. Early Departures was also my science fiction goal for January.

Punching the Air is a book in verse about a Black teenage boy wrongly convicted of a crime and sent to prison. I’m reading an eBook version, and the text layout and background designs on the pages don’t appear the way they were intended, so I hope to reread it sometime with a paper copy.

Early Departures follows Jamal who, in a complicated string of events, has mysteriously had the chance to be with his dead ex-best friend again for a month. This book is told in reverse chronological order, so it is a little confusing.

Recently Finished

My most recent completion is the middle-grade graphic novel Be Prepared by Vera Brosgol. She also wrote Anya’s Ghost, a book on The Ultimate Reading List. Be Prepared is a memoir about nine-year-old Vera’s experience at Russian summer camp, where she faces drama, fights, and outhouses.

Reading Next

After my current two, I’ll probably read Furia by Yamile Saied Méndez, because it’s next on the list for the competition. Instead of saying the same books I’ve been trying to get to for two years in every singe post, I try to say a different one each time. So, when I finish these required books, one new to-be-read is Dune by Frank Herbert, though I doubt I can last the whole series.


You might also like: Very Late Halloween Creatures Book Tag 2021

Author:

A teenager obsessed with words of all kinds. When I’m not reading or writing, I like drawing, musical theatre, and D&D.

7 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 01/19/2022

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.