Posted in Book Reviews, Quick Reads, Reading, Spoiler Free, Words

Book Review: I Must Betray You by Ruta Sepetys

In 1989 communist Romania, a seventeen-year-old named Cristian is forced to become an informer, betraying his friends and family.

321 pages

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Ruta Sepetys is undoubtedly one of my favorite authors, and I Must Betray You did not disappoint. I had a bit of a reading slump in which I read the first few sentences of a lot of books, trying to find one to read. Since this one didn’t grip me that instantly, I set it aside. A few months later, I decided I should give it an actual chance, and I am very glad I did.

With excellent storytelling and beautiful writing, I tore through the pages and often forgot I was reading. From start to finish, I was captivated in the story, and it ended too quickly. I love Sepetys’ writing style because it has just the right amount of description. It was clear how much research and work went into the book, and I appreciated it.

The romantic subplot was perfectly woven into the main story. It didn’t cheapen it or take over the book’s purpose. Aside from Cristian and Liliana’s relationship, all the characters and the way they interacted were unique and meaningful.

As much as I loved this book, it’s not the type I can rant for hours about. I think there is something impactful in how such a deep story was written with such simplicity. For anyone looking to learn about a new perspective and become invested, I Must Betray You is a book worth reading.

Author:

A teenager obsessed with words of all kinds. When I’m not reading or writing, I like drawing, musical theatre, and D&D.

One thought on “Book Review: I Must Betray You by Ruta Sepetys

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.