Posted in Book Reviews, Reading, Words

Book Review: The Last Cuentista by Donna Barba Higuera

When humans escaping Earth’s destruction wake up on another planet, twelve-year-old Petra finds she is the only one who remembers anything from their previous life, and it is up to her to keep alive the stories of their home planet.

320 pages

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

I spontaneously took on this book for school and ended up enjoying it much more than I thought I would.

Characters

Petra: She had a unique way of thinking and was well-developed throughout the book. She thought like a child, but not in the immature-writing-style way that sometimes annoys me. There weren’t many prominent characters besides her (or at least not ones I can talk about without spoiling the plot).

The way Petra interacted with each character was told so well, especially her relationship with Epsilon-5. She took over and risked everything to care for the other kids with no memories, though she did sometimes get them into situations too dangerous.

I think instances like that show how she was a flawed and maturing character, yet still good-intentioned and kind. Despite going through so much trauma and mistreatment, she helped everyone and put them before herself.

Also, isn’t Petra the best character name? Her father is a geologist and convinced her mother to name her this, not mentioning that it meant “rock.” It sounds pretty, fits the character, and is unique without being annoying.

Voxy: I feel like he could be seen as stereotypical, the archetype of a quiet rebel, but for me his character worked. He never felt bland or one-sided.

Epsilon-5: I just love him. He was so sweet and a ray of hope to Petra.

The Collective: Even though the Collective was this robotlike science-fiction villain force, it felt fresh and original through the eyes of Petra in The Last Cuentista. There’s so much power in being able to satisfy those looking for a specific genre while bringing something new. Donna Barba Higuera pulled this off.

In some ways, the Collective made this book remind me of an infinitely better version of Earthseed by Pamela Sargent—one of my least favorite books.

Ben: I adored this small character’s scenes and his quiet care for the children.

Plot

But what truly brought this book to be one of my favorites was the plot. I’m not a big fan of middle grade because it’s too childish for me. I loved this one because it maintained Petra’s wisdom and internal monologue.

The plot was amazing and the premise incredibly unique (how many times have I said unique?). It felt like a science fiction novel while being more grounded and real. The story is told in a beautiful and heartwarming way.

The tragedies and losses weren’t told in a way that made me cry, but I could feel so well the sinking devastation Petra felt. There’s such a range and mix of emotions that enhance the story.

It was cool to see all the influential books and authors listed. When Ben was stocking Petra with literature, he included modern work that the author predicted would be classics in the future. The abundance of references to books new and old made me happy.

I can’t not talk about the ending, so I’ve hidden it in a dropdown below.

Spoilers! Click to view

The plot twist with Epsilon-5 being Javier was SO well pulled off. I vaguely guessed it, but it still left me surprised and in awe. It changed his and Petra’s relationship in realistic ways. And once I found out, it became clear from the beginning—the best kind of twist.

The ending could not have been better. The stakes lasted straight to the last sentence, and it left off on a happy and open-ended note, when Petra and the others found other humans on the planet. Obviously, a lot could go wrong even seconds later, and I appreciate the author’s choice to close on a moment of hope. A sequel could be wonderful—I’d welcome it—but I also think the book works better on its own.

Writing

The only drawback I can think of is that the writing wasn’t my favorite. It tended to be boring on occasion and it’s always hard to get me to like middle grade. However, I enjoyed how this didn’t treat the reader like a child and could be read by all ages.


The Last Cuentista by Donna Barba Higuera is a heartbreaking and heartwarming novel with a brilliant premise like no other. It’s one of my favorite books this year. I recommend it if you like science fiction, want to explore a new genre, or want a short, easy book that will draw you in immediately.


You might also like: The Sci-Fi Awards

Author:

A teenager obsessed with words of all kinds. When I’m not reading or writing, I like drawing, musical theatre, and D&D.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.